Political News

Clarendon GOP attends 2023 SCGOP Convention


The 2023 SCGOP Convention was held on Saturday, May 20, 2023 at the River Bluff High School Auditorium in Lexington, SC. State Officers were elected as follows:

Chair: Drew McKissick- re-elected

1st Vice-Chair: Cindy Risher - re-elected (Clarendon GOP Executive Committeeperson)

2nd Vice-Chair: Kizzie Smalls- re-elected

3rd Vice-Chair: Leighton Gray Smith- re-elected.

Five resolutions were presented and passed.

Seven delegates and eight alternates attended from Clarendon County.

Those pictured: Back row - Kay Jowers (Alternate, Roger Jowers CCGOP 3rd Chair(Alternate); Jose A Calvo, CCGOP 1st Chair (Delegate); Pastor John Matthews, CCGOP Sergeant-at-Arms (Delegate); Cindy Matthews (Alternate); Moye Graham, CCGOP Chair (Delegate), Al Risher (Delegate), Terrey Mike Streath, CCGOP Media Chair (Alternate).

Front Row: Maureen Calvo, CCGOP Secretary (Delegate); Elaine Dingle Wood (Alternate); June M. Brailsford, CCGOP Treasurer (Delegate), and Cindy Risher, CCGOP Executive Committeeperson & SCGOP 1st Vice-Chair (Delegate).

Those not pictured, but attended: Kathy Wise Mathis, Joseph “Big Al” Pedalino, and Anna Pedalino. These were all alternates.