School News

Three Central Carolina students named to the SC Academic Team


Central Carolina Technical College (CCTC) students Leanna Clyburn, Kaitlynn Moore and Thomas Thornton were selected to be recognized as members of the 2024 Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) South Carolina All-State Academic Team. Fifty students from 16 technical colleges within the South Carolina Technical College System were named to the 2024 All-State Academic Team.

Clyburn is a student in the environmental engineering technology program and was named to the president’s and dean’s list. Her favorite college subjects include English and macroeconomics. She has been involved in her community as a youth leader at Taking the City Ministry. Clyburn plans to transfer to Limestone University after graduating from CCTC and her long-term plans include a career in environmental health and safety and becoming a successful entrepreneur.

Moore is a student in the mechatronics program. She has also earned certifications in basic mechatronics, basic welding and OSHA. Her favorite class at CCTC is Robotics. After graduation, she plans to enter the workforce at a plant,with a stable job .When she is not doing schoolwork, Moore loves to crochet for fun.

Thornton is a student in the general technology program. After graduating, he plans to enter the workforce and work toward a senior level position. Thornton is also interested in opening his own business one day.

PTK, the international honor society of the two-year college, conducts this program each year to honor outstanding students from technical, junior and community colleges nationwide. South Carolina’s team members have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement and an impressive record of service to their colleges.

PTK’s mission is to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and to provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming.

For more information on CCTC’s PTK program, contact Executive Director for Student Development Renee Patchin at 803.778.7867 or

View Online: