FEMA extends deadline for disaster assistance applications to Jan. 3

by | November 30, 2015 5:37 pm

The Federal Emergency Management Agency has extended the deadline for residents affected by South Carolina’s historic floods to register for disaster assistance.
The deadline, which was initially set for Friday, has been extended to Jan. 3, 2016.
Both the state and FEMA agreed on the extension for 24 South Carolina counties, including Clarendon, Bamberg, Berkeley, Calhoun, Charleston, Colleton, Darlington, Dorchester, Fairfield, Florence, Georgetown, Greenville, Greenwood, Horry, Kershaw, Lee, Lexington, Marion, Newberry, Orangeburg, Richland, Spartanburg, Sumter and Williamsburg.
Federal disaster assistance for individuals and families may include money for temporary housing; rental assistance; emergency home repairs; personal property losses; medical, dental and funeral expenses; and other serious disaster-related expenses not covered by insurance.
There are several ways to register. Individuals may register online at DisasterAssistance.gov or by phone at 1 (800) 621-3362 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily. Survivors who use 711 or Video Relay Service or require accommodations while visiting a disaster recovery center may call 1 (800) 621-3362.
Survivors may also register at a disaster recovery center. Clarendon’s is located in the Clarendon Community Recreation Center behind Weldon Auditorium, and is open from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. weekdays and 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. Saturdays.
For more information on South Carolina’s disaster recovery, visit www.fema.gov/disaster/4241.

No comments yet.

The comments are closed.


© Copyright 2019 | Manning Live