Clarendon 4

A message from your consolidated board


On the evening of March 9, 2020, Senator Kevin Johnson swore-in seven appointees who will lead the charge and serve on the Clarendon 1 and Clarendon 3 consolidated district board as they make preparations for Clarendon District 4 to begin serving the Summerton and Turbeville communities beginning July 1, 2021.  Senator Johnson appointed four members from both the Clarendon 1 and Clarendon 3 school boards – two from each – and also three individuals from the community.  Mr. Tony Junious and Ms. Ethel Marshall resigned from their board seats with Clarendon 1 before the swearing-in Tuesday night; similarly, Mr. Jason Newsome and Mr. Ron Wingard resigned from the Clarendon 3 board.  Along with these veteran board members, Ms. Jennifer Howell Powell, Mr. Luther Faulk, and Mr. Alex Craven were also appointed and sworn-in to begin work on the consolidation immediately. Elections for the Clarendon 4 Board will occur, after the census, with the general election in 2022 and Board members will be elected to staggered terms.

 Senator Johnson also swore-in Ms. Bessie Leonard to serve on the Clarendon 1 Board and Mrs. Amanda Floyd McConnell to serve on the Clarendon 3 Board to fill the vacancies of those board members appointed to the Clarendon 4 Board.  One additional appointment will be made for each board, and those appointees will be sworn-in as quickly as possible.

The first business meeting for the Clarendon 4 Board will take place on Monday, March 30, 2020, at 6:30 p.m. at the Clarendon 3 District Office located at 1177 Atkinson Street in Turbeville.  The public is welcome and encouraged to attend.  An agenda will be posted to both the Clarendon 1 and 3 websites and distributed to local media outlets.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment