Scott’s Branch alumni recognize scholarship recipients

by | March 22, 2019 11:24 am

Last Updated: March 22, 2019 at 11:22 am

The Scott’s Branch High Alumni Association Inc. Hosted its 2019 Awards and Scholarship Gala on Saturday at the Clarendon School District 1 Community Resource Center.
The gala served as an awards ceremony to acknowledge students, as well as leaders in the community, for their honorable achievements. Big DM 101.3 FM Radio and TV personality Jeffrey L. Lampkin was the master of ceremony. Shenay Turner, the 2009 scholarship recipient, was the keynote speaker.
The association distributed $9,000 in scholarship money throughout the evening. Recipients included Xavier Bennett, Amonte Brown, Deondre Brunson, Jordon Caldwell, Letia Davis, Iezanniah Gibson, Faith Lawson, Sarah Middleton and Shakerra Philips.
National Scholarship Committee Chairwoman Beatrice Rivers presented the scholarships, along with SBHAA President Ruby E. Billie Pinnex. Each student received $1,000.
SBHAA Eagles-at-Large Vice-President Terrance G. Tindal presented additional awards, including the Trailblazer Award to Henry Canty; the Community Service Award to Beatrice Rivers; the Lifetime Achievement Award to Coach L.M. Stukes, who coached the Scott’s Branch varsity girls’ basketball team to victory in the 2019 State Championships. Tindal also presented a Lifetime Achievement Award to B.O. Butler, the first African-American to become a school superintendent in South Carolina.

No comments yet.

The comments are closed.


© Copyright 2019 | Manning Live