LEO Hall of Fame inducts eight SC officers killed in line of duty

by | May 5, 2016 8:25 am

Last Updated: May 4, 2016 at 8:38 pm

COLUMBIA – The Law Enforcement Officers Hall of Fame held induction ceremonies Wednesday for eight South Carolina law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty. Three of those officers died in 2015. The HOF also inducted five officers from years past. These officers were found to be line-of-duty deaths through research in the past year.
The Hall of Fame is part of the state Department of Public Safety and was established by a legislative act in 1974. By that act, its purpose was defined “as a memorial to law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty and in recognition of the selfless dedication of all law enforcement officers in the day-to-day performance of their duties.”
“Each year, we take a few moments to pause and remember those heroes who gave their lives serving the State of South Carolina,” said SCDPS Director Leroy Smith. “This induction ceremony ensures that the families know that their loved one’s memory and legacy live on.”
There are now 364 officers who hold a place of honor in the Hall of Fame Memorial Room.

Deputy Delton C. Daniels
Marlboro County Sheriff’s Office
August 1, 2015

Patrolman Gregory T. Alia
Forest Acres Police Department
September 30, 2015

Master Police Officer Stacy L. Case
Columbia Police Department
November 7, 2015

Deputy US Marshal Madison Franklin Mitchell
US Marshals Service
June 19, 1872

Officer W.A.R. Wilson
Chester Police Department
May 9, 1891

Deputy US Marshal John D. Kirby
US Marshals Service
March 5, 1896

Officer James K. Marshall
Chester Police Department
February 7, 1898

Deputy US Marshal John Franklin Gooding
US Marshals Service
July 18, 1935



No comments yet.

The comments are closed.


© Copyright 2019 | Manning Live